WWU Headed to GNAC Indoor Championships

Feb. 16, 2017

BELLINGHAM, Wash. – The Western Washington University track & field program is set to compete at the Great Northwest Athletic Conference Indoor Championships on Friday and Saturday, hosted at Jacksons Indoor Track at the Idaho Center in Nampa, Idaho.

Through five meets leading up to the conference championships, five Vikings have recorded NCAA II provisional qualifying performances and WWU has added 21 new entries to the indoor program history top 10 lists.

In the most recent U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) West Region regional rankings, both WWU teams are ranked No. 8 in their respective polls.

The GNAC Indoor Championships begin Friday with the men’s heptathlon at 9 am MT/8 am PT and the women’s pentathlon at 9:15 am/8:15 am PT. The running events begin at 2:30 pm MT/1:30 pm PT and the field events at 3:30 pm MT/2:30 pm PT on Friday. Action resumes Saturday with the heptathlon beginning at 9:30 am MT/8:30 am PT before field events start at 10 am MT/9 am PT and running events at 11:25 am MT/10:25 am PT.

The WWU men placed 3rd while the women were 4th at the GNAC Indoor Championships last season. Notable WWU performances during the 2017 indoor season include the following:

Senior distance runner Andrew Wise (Denver, CO/East) has recorded NCAA provisional qualifying times in the 3,000m (8:23.18) and 5,000m (14:39.59). His 3,000m time ranks 3rd in the GNAC while his 5,000m time is 4th in the conference. Both times rank No. 3 on WWU top 10 lists and are within the top 40 times nationally during the season.

Senior pole vaulter Gordie Kordas (Blaine, WA) ranks 3rd in the GNAC season with an NCAA provisional qualifying height of 4.81m (15-9 ¼). His performance ranks 28th nationally and is 3rd in the GNAC. The height is tied for 6th on the WWU top 10 list as well as tied for 9th in GNAC history.

Senior thrower Brandon Pless (Sedro-Woolley, WA) enters the weekend with the best shot put mark in the GNAC during the current season with a distance of 15.86m (52-0 ½). His mark is an NCAA provisional qualifying effort ranking 45th nationally. Junior thrower Bryan Lee (Sammamish, WA/Skyline) owns the 2nd-best weight throw mark in the GNAC this season at 17.04m (55-11). The season-best throw for Pless in the weight throw is 4th-best in the GNAC this season (16.58m, 54-4 ¾). 

Senior distance runner Brittany Grant (Port Townsend, WA) has the 4th-best 3,000m time in the GNAC during the season (9:54.97). Her time is 3rd-best in WWU history and is also an NCAA provisional qualifying time ranking 30th nationally.   

Junior pole vaulter Anna Paradee (Tacoma, WA/Decatur) will enter the weekend with the 2nd-best height in the conference this season at 3.78m (12-4 ¾). The NCAA provisional qualifying performance ranks No. 4 in WWU top 10 history and 8th in GNAC history. Her effort is 10th-best nationally. 

Coming Up: WWU will continue the indoor season at the Seattle Pacific University Final Qualifier on Feb. 25 at the Dempsey Indoor Center on the campus of the University of Washington. The NCAA II Indoor National Championships will be held March 9-11 in Birmingham, Ala., at the Birmingham CrossPlex.

Meet Details:
Event: GNAC Indoor Championships
Site: Nampa, ID (Jacksons Indoor Track at the Idaho Center)
Date: February 17-18, 2017
Meet Info | Schedule | Meet Program | Live Results | Start List | Performance List
GNAC Preview | GNAC Weekly Notebook

Venue Information:
The Jacksons track is a 200-meter banked track with Mondo surfacing. The pole vault and high jump are located on the infield. Lanes 1-6 will be used for all running events on the oval, with the exception of the 200 meters which will be run in lanes 2-6. Lanes 1-8 will be used for the 60 meters and 60 meter hurdles. 

WWU NCAA II PROVISIONAL QUALIFYING PERFORMANCES

Name

Event

Mark

NCAA II Ranking

2017 GNAC Season Rank

Notable

Brittany Grant

3,000m

9:54.97

30

4

No. 3 in WWU history

Andrew Wise

3,000m

8:23.18

38

3

No. 3 WWU history

Andrew Wise

5,000m

14:39.59

28

4

No. 3 WWU history

Anna Paradee

Pole Vault

3.78m / 12-4 ¾  

10

2

No. 4 WWU history / 8th GNAC history

Gordie Kordas

Pole Vault

4.81m / 15-9 ¼

28

3

T-6th WWU history / T-9th GNAC history

Brandon Pless

Shot Put

15.86m / 52-0 ½

45

1

PR (16.10m) No. 3 WWU history

Additional GNAC Top 5 Performances as of Feb. 16

Brittany Grant

5,000m

17:39.98

50

                    3                   

PR (17:36.90) No. 4 WWU history

Lillianna Stelling

5,000m

17:54.85

72

4

No. 6 in WWU history

Alexandra Laiblin

5,000m

18:24.47

109

5

No. 8 in WWU history

Rachael Roberts

Pole Vault

3.33m / 10-11

T-82

5

No. 10 in WWU history

Nate van Tuinen

Long Jump

6.97m / 22-10 ½

T-58

3

PR (7.17m) No. 2 WWU history

Somit Chhim

Triple Jump

13.60m / 44-7 ½

T-111

4

No. 6 in WWU history

Bryan Lee

Weight Throw

17.04m / 55-11

53

2

PR (17.22m) No. 3 WWU history

Brandon Pless

Weight Throw

16.58m / 54-4 ¾

T-68

4

PR (17.53m) is school record

 

 

2017 Indoor Schedule:

 

Meet

Date

Location

UW Indoor Preview

Jan. 14

University of Washington (Seattle, WA)

UW Invitational

Jan. 27-28

University of Washington (Seattle, WA)

Cougar Indoor

Feb. 3-4

Washington State University (Pullman, WA)

Husky Classic

Feb. 10-11

University of Washington (Seattle, WA)

UW Open

Feb. 12

University of Washington (Seattle, WA)

GNAC Championships

Feb. 17-18

Jacksons Indoor Track (Nampa, ID)

SPU Final Qualifier

Feb. 25

University of Washington (Seattle, WA)

NCAA Championships

March 9-11

Birmingham CrossPlex (Birmingham, Ala.)