Jackson named 2012 North America/Division II Bulletin Coach of the Year

WWUVIKINGSDOTCOM Head Coach Brad Jackson and WWU Director of Athletics Lynda Goodrich
Head Coach Brad Jackson and WWU Director of Athletics Lynda Goodrich

March 27, 2012

BEAVERTON, Ore. - Western Washington University's Brad Jackson has been named the 2012 Schelde North America/ Division II Bulletin Coach of the Year, the publication announced in its April issue.

Jackson directed the Vikings to a 31-5 record and the 2012 NCAA Division II national championship.

It is the second national honor for Jackson, who received the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) accolade Monday. He also was the NABC West District and Great Northwest Athletic Conference Coach of the Year.

Division II Bulletin has named a Coach of the Year every season since 1991-92. Jackson is the first GNAC coach and just the fourth from the West Region to win the award.

"All college basketball coaches are to be commended for their tireless devotion and sacrifices this season. Winning a national title takes an outstanding effort from the first day of practice to the final buzzer in March," said Jim Peterson, president of Schelde North America, a leading basketball goal and equipment manufacturer. "Schelde North America is honored to partner with Division II Bulletin to recognize Brad Jackson and all the coaches in Division II college basketball."

The winningest coach in WWU history, Jackson guided the Vikings to the national title with a 72-65 win over Montevallo AL on Saturday at the Division II championship held in The Bank of Kentucky Center at Highland Heights, Ky.

In 27 seasons as head coach at WWU, Jackson's teams have reached postseason play 19 times. His teams have an overall won-lost record of 518-279.

The Vikings' 31 wins are a school season record, and the national title was the first in the 110-year history of the program. Earlier this season, Jackson won his 500th game and is the third winningest coach in state of Washington history, trailing only Marv Harshman (637) and Dean Nicholson (620).

WWU's national title is just the second by a collegiate men's basketball team in state history, and the first in 36 years. Puget Sound won the NCAA II crown in 1976.