Men's Basketball Announces 2017-18 Team Awards

May 15, 2018

BELLINGHAM, Wash. - The Western Washington University men's basketball team celebrated another great season with the 2017-18 End of Season Banquet held Monday night in the Hall of Fame room in Carver Gym. 

The Vikings completed the 2017-18 season with a 21-8 overall record and finished 2nd in the Great Northwest Athletic Conference with a 16-4 league record. The team was the No. 2 seed in the GNAC Tournament after recording the eighth 20-win season over the last 10 years. The 2017-18 season also marked the 11th consecutive winning season, the second-longest streak in program history behind a 15-season streak from 1959-73.

In addition to the annual team awards being handed out and the always popular EZ Ryder Awards given out by 15-year team manager Ryder Cunningham, WWU's four seniors were honored with special framed prints. Deandre DicksonBrett KingmaBlake Fernandez and Brad Wallace were all recognized for their contributions to the program as they ended their WWU careers.

Sophomore Dominick Oliveri was also presented with the 2018 FRed Lewis Memorial Winter Scholar Athlete Award for recording the highest GPA during the winter quarter.

Here are the team award winners as announced by head coach Tony Dominguez:

2017-18 WWU Men's Basketball Award Winners:
Stat Player: Daulton Hommes
Most Improved Player: RJ Secrest
Rich Baxter Hustle Award: Brad Wallace
Rebounder Per Minute: Logan Schilder
Price Visser Rebounding Award: Trey Drechsel
Joe Morse Most Inspirational Player: Tyler Payne
Practice Player of the Year: Brad Wallace
Chuck Randall Coaches Award: Trevor Jasinsky & Trey Drechsel
Team MVP Awards: Daulton Hommes; Trey Drechsel; Deandre Dickson


Vikings Photos


Partners and Sponsors