Olson nabs two awards at annual WWU awards banquet

Andy Olson

Dec. 5, 2004

BELLINGHAM, Wash. - Wide receiver Andy Olson (Jr., Chehalis/W.F. West) received two awards, highlighting the annual Western Washington University football awards banquet Sunday afternoon at the Best Western Lakeway Inn.

Olson, who set school and Great Northwest Athletic Conference records with 15 touchdown catches and broke his own conference record by averaging 107.5 receiving yards per game, earned Offensive Player of the Year and Terry Todd Most Inspirational honors.

Linebacker Craig Keenan (Jr., Salem, MA/Hamilton-Wenham/Palomar JC) and placekicker/punter Michael Koenen (Sr., Ferndale) were named Defensive Player of the Year and Special Teams Player of the Year, respectively. Keenan led the team with 85 tackles, and Koenen set school and GNAC career records in kick scoring with 272 points, while ranking third nationally in punting with a 43.5 average.

Tight end Rick Carte (Sr., Juneau, AK/Juneau-Douglas) was named Offensive Lineman of the Year, and defensive tackle Noel Tafoya (Jr., Pittsburg, CA/Diablo Valley JC) received Defensive Lineman of the Year honors.

Strong safety Rob White (Sr., Woodinville/Inglemoor) earned both the Lou Parberry Strength and Senior Scholar Athlete awards. Redshirt cornerback Mike Schmit (Vancouver/Columbia River) was the Freshman Scholar Athlete recipient.

Running back Jordyn Jackson (Fr., Vancouver/Columbia River) and free safety Steve Davis (Fr., Kennewick/Kamiakin) were the Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year and the Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year, respectively. Receiving the Charles Lappenbusch Memorial Coaches Award was wide receiver Zach Russell (So., Bothell/Lake Washington). Tom and Chris Gowing, parents of offensive guard Todd Gowing (Sr., Kirkland/Inglemoor), and team chaplain Rick Todd shared the Chet Ullin Memorial "Viking Spirit" Award.

Team captain awards went to quarterback Steve Nichols (Sr., Stevenson), White, Carte and Olson.