WWU's Sujinda Dangvan named first-team GNAC all-star

Sujinda Dangvan

Nov. 5, 2012

BELLINGHAM, Wash. - Western Washington University midfielder Sujinda Dangvan (Sr.,Vancouver/Mountain View) was a first-team selection and forward Andrew Weishaar (Jr., Puyallup) a second-team pick on the Great Northwest Athletic Conference men's soccer team announced today.

Sujinda finished with six goals and three assists for 15 points, and Weishaar tied for team-high honors with seven goals and had three assists for a Viking best of 17 points. Weishaar also has a team-high three game-winning goals.

Four WWU players received honorable mention all-conference recognition. They were forward Justin Moore (Sr., Port Orchard/South Kitsap), midfielder Uche Ugwoaba (Fr., Burien/Highline), defender Kurtis Pederson (Fr., Puyallup/Bellarmine Prep) and goalkeeper Keegan Rogers (So., Portland, OR/Portland Christian).

Moore had seven goals and 14 points, and Rogers a 1.29 goals against average and five shutouts.

The Vikings finished 8-8-2 overall, 5-2-2 at home, and fifth in the GNAC standings at 6-6-2. Near the end of the season, they posted a 4-1-1 record over a six-game stretch, including a 3-1 victory at nationally No.11-ranked Seattle Pacific.

Great Northwest Athletic Conference

Men's Soccer: Simon Fraser's Winter GNAC Player of the Year

PORTLAND, Ore. - Simon Fraser midfielder Michael Winter has been selected the 2012 Great Northwest Athletic Conference Men's Soccer Player of the Year.

Winter had five goals and two assists this fall and also was a key contributor on a Clan defense that allowed just nine goals and posted nine shutouts in posting a 16-1-1 record.

Also voted special award winners by the conference coaches were Seattle Pacific defender Jon Pearman, Northwest Nazarene goalkeeper Alfredo Ontiveros and SFU midfielder Ryan Dhillon.

Pearman was named the GNAC Defender of the Year for the second year in a row. He led a Falcon defense that had eight shutouts. Ontiveros, who led the conference in shutouts (9) and save percentage (.819), was named the GNAC Newcomer of the Year.

Dhillon, who finished the regular season ranked fourth in total points with 19 (7 goals, 5 assists) earned GNAC Freshman of the Year honors.

Alan Koch of Simon Fraser was voted the GNAC Coach of the Year for the third straight year. Koch shared the award two years ago with Mark Collings of Seattle Pacific before winning it outright last season.

In three seasons in the GNAC Koch has led SFU to a 53-3-2 record and to three consecutive conference titles. In four seasons at his alma mater, he has a career record of 72-11-3.

Simon Fraser and Seattle Pacific dominated the all-conference team each earning four slots. University of Mary, Montana State Billings, Northwest Nazarene and Western Washington each placed one player on the first team.

Five players including Winter, Pearman, Carlo Basso of Simon Fraser, Thomas Chameraud of MSU Billings and Caleb Nyone of Seattle Pacific were unanimous selections to the first team, while seven players - Winter, Pearman, Basso, Nyone, SFU defenders Helge Neumann and Matt Besuschko and Seattle Pacific goalkeeper Zach Johnson - were repeat selections.

Nyone earned first team honors for the third time, while Basso, Pearman, Besuschko and Johnson were repeaters from last year's team. Winter and Neumann were first team selections in 2010. Basso was also a unanimous choice last year.


FIRST TEAM: Forwards - +*Carlo Basso, SFU (6-4, Jr., Coquitlam, BC); Blaine Carver, SPU (5-10, Jr., Soldotna, AK); Rory Pratt, Mary (6-2, So., Dublin, Ireland). Midfielders - +*Michael Winter, SFU (6-0, Sr., Vancouver, BC); +Thomas Chameraud, MSUB (6-0, Sr., Poitiers, France); +**Caleb Nyone, SPU (6-1, Sr., Happy Valley, OR); Sujinda Dangvan, WWU (5-10, Sr., Vancouver, WA). Defenders - +*Jon Pearman, SPU (6-2, Sr., Glendale, AZ); *Helge Neumann, SFU (6-4, Sr., Oslo, Norway); Stephen Marshall, NNU (5-10, Sr., Palm Springs, CA); *Matt Besuschko, SFU (5-10, Sr., Port Moody, BC). Goalkeeper - *Zach Johnson, SPU (GK, 6-3, Sr., Snohomish, WA). +Unanimous *Repeater (Winter and Neumann from 2010) **Two-time repeater

SECOND TEAM: Forwards - Andrew Weishaar, WWU (6-1, Jr., Puyallup, WA); Jaime Torres, NNU (5-8, Jr., Pomona, CA); Thomas Sheets, MSUB (5-9, Sr., Snohomish, WA). Midfielders - Chris Bargholz, SFU (5-10, So., Fuessen, Germany); Justin Wallace, SFU (5-11, Jr., Kamloops, BC); Ryan Dhillon, SFU (5-10, Fr., North Delta, BC); Sal Sanchez, NNU (6-0, Sr., Ontario, OR). Defenders - Conner Moe, MSUB (6-1, Sr., Snohomish, WA); Brandon Scott, SMU (5-7, Sr., Tacoma, WA); Quante Abbot Hill Smith, SFU (D, 6-0, Fr., Brampton, ON); Jon Curry, NNU (D, 5-8, Sr., Sacramento, CA). Goalkeeper - Alfredo Ontiveros, NNU (GK, 6-2, Jr., La Puente, CA).

HONORABLE MENTION: Forwards - Justin Moore, WWU (F, 5-9, Sr., Port Orchard, WA); Brice Holiday, USF (F, 6-1, Sr., Colorado Springs, CO); Dylan Gaydosh, SMU (F, 6-1, Jr., Federal Way, WA). Midfielders - Anthony Mohammed, SPU (5-7, Jr., Litchfield Park, AZ); Ryan Keohane, USF (5-10, Sr., Rapid City, SD); Uche Ugwoaba, WWU (5-7, Fr., Burien, WA); CJ Chu, SMU (5-11, Jr., Des Moines, WA); Ian Adams, SPU (5-10, Fr., Shoreline, WA); Jovan Blagojevic, SFU (6-0, So., Coquitlam, BC); Alex Rowley, SFU (5-10, Fr., Maple Ridge, BC); John DiLulo, NNU (5-8, Jr., Boise, ID). Defenders - Cameron Lee, MSUB (6-1, Fr., Welborn, South Africa); Connor Shefte, USF (6-0, Sr., Omaha, NE); Kurtis Pederson, WWU (6-1, Fr., Puyallup, WA); Jonny Sellers, Mary (6-0, Fr., York, England); Evan McNiel, NNU (6-2, Sr., Castaic, CA). Goalkeepers - Michael Frenzel, Mary (6-5, Jr., Bismarck, ND); Keegan Rogers, WWU (6-1, So., Portland, OR); Eoin Hurley, MSUB (6-3, So., Dublin, Ireland).

Player of the Year - Michael Winter, Simon Fraser. Defensive Player of the Year - Jon Pearman, Seattle Pacific. Newcomer of the Year - Alfredo Ontiveros, Northwest Nazarene. Freshman of the Year - Ryan Dhillon, Simon Fraser. Coach of the Year - Alan Koch, Simon Fraser.


Vikings Photos


Partners and Sponsors