WWU's Weishaar and McCarty named first-team GNAC all-stars

Andrew Weishaar

Nov. 12, 2013

BELLINGHAM, Wash. - Western Washington University forward Andrew Weishaar (Sr., Puyallup), a unanimous choice, and defender Troy McCarty (Fr., Snohomish) were first-team selections on the 2013 Great Northwest Conference Men's Soccer All-Star Team announced by the conference office Tuesday, Nov. 12.

Three Vikings were picked to the second team. They included midfielder Jeremy Wentzel (R-So., Edmonds/Edmonds-Woodway), defender Uche Ugwoaba (So., Burien/Highline) and goalkeeper Keegan Rogers (Jr., Portland, OR/Portland Christian).

Receiving honorable mention was WWU midfielder Gabriele Zaccagnini (Jr., Olympia/Capital).

Weishaar led the Vikings and was second among conference leaders with 10 goals. He scored a GNAC-best five game-winning goals.

Weishaar finished his four-year career fifth among WWU leaders in goals with 26, sixth in points with 63 and tied for eighth in assists with 13.

McCarty had four goals and one assist, while helping the Vikings lead the conference in goals against average (0.69) and goals allowed (13).

Rogers led the GNAC in both GAA at 0.67 and save percentage at .848. He allowed just 12 goals and posted seven shutouts with 67 saves in 1,601 minutes played.

Wentzel tied for second in the conference with six assists and scored four goals. Zaccagnini had four assists and Ugwoaba one.

WWU finished its season at 11-4-3, winning six of its last seven games, and placed third in the GNAC, tying its best finish since 2010, at 9-2-3. The Vikings upset nationally No.2-ranked Simon Fraser, 3-0, in their season finale.

Simon Fraser, which won the conference title, swept the GNAC's top awards with midfielder Chris Bargholz being named Player of the Year, Alex Rowley, Defensive Player of the Year; defender Magnus Kristensen, Freshman of the Year; and Alan Koch, Coach of the Year.

Northwest Nazarene forward Fredy Razo was the GNAC Newcomer of the Year.

Great Northwest Athletic Conference

Men's Soccer: Simon Fraser Sweeps All-Conference Awards (Nov. 12, 2013)

PORTLAND, Ore. - Sweeping the awards of Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, and Coach of the Year, Simon Fraser capped a top-notch regular season with a strong showing in the 2013 Great Northwest Athletic Conference All-Conference teams.

Chris Bargholz, a second-team All-GNAC midfielder in 2012, was voted as the GNAC Player of the Year while teammates Alex Rowley and Magnus Kristensen received Defensive Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year honors, respectively. SFU head coach Alan Koch was named GNAC Coach of the Year for the fourth consecutive season.

Fredy Razo of Northwest Nazarene, a transfer from Irvine Valley College who led the GNAC in goals scored with 16, was named Newcomer of the Year.

Joining Bargholz and Kristensen as unanimous selections to the first team were Western Washington forward Andrew Weishaar, and Seattle Pacific midfielder Anthony Mohammed. Weishaar scored the second-most goals in the conference this season with 10, while Mohammed started all 18 games for SPU and was referred to by head coach Mark Collings as the team's best player.

University of Mary forward Rory Pratt earned first team honors for the second consecutive season after totaling four goals and five assists to lead his team with 13 points. Jaime Torres, NNU's top assist man with five, was awarded first-team honors as well.

A pair of SPU defenders - Bryson Pavel and Davis Karaica - as well as Falcon goalkeeper Cody Lang were each named to the first team, as SPU had the most of any school on the squad with four total players.

WWU freshman Troy McCarty was rewarded for a strong first collegiate campaign with first-team All-GNAC honors as well.

Five more Clan players earned second team honors, and two were named honorable mention giving 11 total SFU players All-GNAC recognition. Ryan Dhillon repeated as a second-team honoree for the second-straight season.

Saint Martin's forward Dylan Gaydosh and midfielder CJ Chu each earned second-team mention, while WWU's Jeremy Wentzel, Uche Ugwoaba and Keegan Rogers earned the second-team nod as well.

Juan Perez of NNU and Andreas Skau of South Dakota Mines rounded out the All-GNAC second team.

Eight total freshmen, including four on the first team, earned 2013 All-GNAC honors, while a dozen sophomores combined to make it 20 total underclassmen to receive recognition.

2013 GNAC All-Conference Team

Player of the Year - Chris Bargholz, Simon Fraser. Defensive Player of the Year - Alex Rowley, Simon Fraser. Newcomer of the Year - Fredy Razo, Northwest Nazarene. Freshman of the Year - Magnus Kristensen, Simon Fraser. Coach of the Year - Alan Koch, Simon Fraser.

First Team: Forwards - +Andrew Weishaar, WWU (6-1, Sr., Puyallup, WA); Fredy Razo, NNU (5-10, Jr., Irvine Valley, CA); *Rory Pratt, UM (6-2, Jr., Dublin, Ireland). Midfielders - +Chris Bargholz, SFU (5-10, Jr., Fuessen, Germany); +Anthony Mohammed, SPU (5-7, Sr., Litchfield Park, AZ); Jaime Torres, NNU (5-8, Sr., Pomona, CA); Alex Rowley, SFU (5-10, So., Maple Ridge, BC). Defenders - +Magnus Kristensen, SFU (6-3, Fr., Stayenger, Norway); Bryson Pavel, SPU (6-0, So., Boise, ID); Troy McCarty, WWU (6-0, Fr., Snohomish, WA); Davis Karaica, SPU (6-1, Fr., Snoqualmie, WA). Goalkeeper - Cody Lang, SPU (6-4, Fr., Spokane, WA). *Repeater +Unanimous.

Second Team: Forwards - Colin Jacques, SFU (5-10, So. Richmond, BC); Dylan Gaydosh, SMU (6-0, Sr., Federal Way, WA); *Ryan Dhillon, SFU (5-10, So., North Delta, BC). Midfielders - CJ Chu, SMU (5-10, Sr., Burien, WA); Jovan Blagojevic, SFU (6-0, Jr., Coquitlam, BC); Jeremy Wentzel, WWU (5-5, So., Edmonds, WA); Andreas Skau, SD Mines (6-1, So., Bergen, Norway). Defenders - Marco Voegeli, SFU (5-9, Sr., Lenzerheide, Switzerland); Uche Ugwoaba, WWU (5-7, So., Burien, WA); Johannes Hallman, SFU (6-3, Jr., Lidkoping, Sweden); Juan Perez, NNU (6-0, Jr., Los Angeles, CA). Goalkeeper - Keegan Rogers, WWU (6-1, Jr., Portland, OR).

Honorable Mention: Forwards - Danny Olivas, SPU (6-1, So., Phoenix, AZ); Blaine Carver, SPU (5-10, Sr., Soldotna, AK); Stephen MacDonald, SPU (6-2, Fr., Phoenix, AZ); Sean Russell, SPU (5-11, Jr., Seattle, WA). Midfielders - *Cameron Lee, MSUB (6-1, So., Bloemfontein, South Africa); Gabriele Zaccagnini, WWU (5-8, Jr., Olympia, WA); Michael McGraw, SDM (6-4, So., Vandalia, OH); Adam Staschuk, SFU (5-9, Sr., Delta, BC). Defenders - Luke Broz, NNU (5-11, So., Boise, ID); Michael Aringer, MSUB (6-2, Jr., Passau, Germany); *Jonny Sellars, UM (6-1, So., York, England); Luke Chouinard, SMU (6-3, Jr., Boise, ID); Kaleb Strawn, SMU (5-9, Fr., Sammamish, WA). Goalkeeper - Brandon Watson, SFU (6-1, Fr., Victoria, BC); *Eoin Hurley, MSUB (6-3, Jr., Dublin, MT); Timothy Tribbett, SDM (5-10, Fr., Centennial, CO).


Vikings Photos


Partners and Sponsors