Western competes Saturday at unofficial NCAA II West Regional

Varsity eight

May 12, 2009

BELLINGHAM, Wash. - Looking for its fifth straight sweep of the varsity eight and varsity four events, the Western Washington University women's rowing team competes Saturday in the unofficial NCAA Division II West Regional held in conjunction with the Pacific Coast Rowing Championships on Lake Natoma near Sacramento, Calif.

The Vikings' varsity eight, ranked second in the latest USRowing/Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association NCAA II Poll, has been victorious in its last five regional races. Western's No.1 shell has not lost to a non-Division I school in five years.

Seated in Western's top eight are coxswain Kristy Theodorson (Sr., Bothell/Inglemoor), stroke Casey Mapes (So., Anchorage, AK/Service), No.7 Audrey Coon (Sr., Kenai, AK/Kenai Central), No.6 Jean Piette (Fr., Vancouver/Columbia River), No.5 Heather Kelly (Jr., Bird Creek, AK/South Anchorage), No.4 Katie Woolsey (Fr., North Bend/Mount Si), No.3 Megan Northey (Fr., Brier/King's), No.2 Madeleine Eckmann (Jr., Winthrop/Liberty Bell) and bow Kate Berni (Fr., Silverdale/Central Kitsap).

The lineup for the Vikings' varsity four, which is looking for its fifth consecutive regional triumph, consists of coxswain Samantha Oberholzer (So., Bellevue), stroke Carson MacPherson-Krutsky (Fr., Seattle/Garfield), No.3 Hilary Gastwirth (Sr., Issaquah/Liberty), No.2 Siri Carlson (So., Tacoma/Franklin Pierce) and bow Hannah Gallagher (Fr., Seattle/Garfield).

Competing against Western at regionals will be UC San Diego and Humboldt State.

Western also will race a novice four in the PCRC. Manning that shell are coxswain Alix Crilly (Fr., Wenatchee), stroke Jordan Uecker (Fr., Bellingham/Sehome/Whatcom CC), No.3 Laura Mahon (Fr., Castle Rock/Mark Morris), No.2 Kelsey Baker (Fr., Gig Harbor) and bow Nolan Winger (Fr., Bremerton/Central Kitsap)

The official announcement of the NCAA II championship field will be made Tuesday, May 19. The field will consist of four teams (varsity eight and varsity four) and two at-large varsity eight entries.

The Vikings have won the last four national titles, the longest streak by any school in any division.