Volleyball Falls in Straight Sets to #24 California Baptist

Sept. 7, 2017

Box Score

ANCHORAGE, Alaska – The 10th-ranked Western Washington University volleyball team opened play in the D2 West Region Volleyball Showcase with a 3-0 loss (25-14, 25-21, 25-18) against 24th-ranked California Baptist Thursday afternoon at the Alaska Airlines Center.

The Vikings (3-2) were forced to play from behind in nearly every set as California Baptist improved to 4-0 on the season. The Lancers avenged their season-ending 3-0 loss to the Vikings in the opening round of the 2016 NCAA II West Regional in Anchorage.

“I am disappointed in how we approached this match, but that falls into the category of a learning lesson,” said 18th-year head coach Diane Flick-Williams. “We are looking to elevate for tomorrow’s matches.”

WWU junior outside hitter Abby Phelps (Manson, WA/Chelan) led the Vikings with 9 kills and 13 digs. Overall the Vikings hit a season-low .145 and committed 15 hitting errors.

California Baptist had three players reach double-figures in kills, led by 13 from reigning PacWest Player of the Week Lauren Hackett. Sydney Marks and McKenna Witt added 11 kills apiece for CBU.

The Vikings dropped the opening set 25-14. With the game knotted 5-5, Cal Baptist pulled ahead going on a 7-1 run to take a 12-6 lead. Western chipped away at the deficit and pulled to within four at 16-12, but CBU responded with a 4-1 run to lead 20-13, and finished the set on a 9-2 run to win 25-14. Western had a .000 hitting percentage in the opening set (7 kills, 7 errors).

The Lancers took the second set 25-21 to go up 2-0. CBU led for most of the set, but the Vikings pulled to within one point at 16-15. Cal Baptist came out of a timeout going on a 5-1 run to grab a 21-16 lead. The Vikings made one last rally to pull close at 22-20, but CBU pulled away to go up 2-0.

Cal Baptist clinched the sweep with a 25-18 win in the third set. WWU held a three-point lead at 12-9, but CBU came out of its timeout going on a 4-0 run to take a 13-12 lead. The Lancers again used a late rally to seal the victory, scoring seven of the last eight points in the set.

The Vikings return to action on Friday with two matches during the second day of the D2 West Region Volleyball Showcase facing a pair of ranked opponents, No. 11 Cal State San Bernardino (11 am PT/10 am AKT) and No. 15 Concordia-Irvine (6:30 pm PT/5:30 pm AKT). WWU closes out the tournament on Saturday facing Chico State (4:30 pm PT/3:30 pm AKT). All games can be streamed and followed via live stats at GNAC.tv.

Headlines

Schedules
Vikings Photos

VIKINGS TRENDING WALL

Partners and Sponsors