Erickson and Hutchinson are AVCA West Region All-Stars

WWUVIKINGSDOTCOM Samantha Hutchinson
Samantha Hutchinson

Dec. 9, 2013

BELLINGHAM, Wash. - Two Western Washington University juniors, middle blocker Kayla Erickson (Gig Harbor/Peninsula) and libero Samantha Hutchinson (University Place/Curtis), have been named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association NCAA Division II West Region All-Star Team.

Hutchinson, who was picked for the second straight year, ranks No.2 nationally in assists per set at 6.91. She has a three-year total of 1,671 digs, which ranks third among WWU career leaders.

Erickson had a season attack percentage of 38.0, which ranked seventh nationally and was the fourth-highest in school history. She averaged 3.65 kills per set, 1.18 blocks and 4.39 points, all team-leading figures.

Erickson had a school-record kill percentage of 73.7 (15-1-19) versus Minnesota State Mankato on Sept. 6, 2013. She is on WWU career record pace in hitting at 36.0 percent and has three-year career totals of 657 kills and 232 blocks.

WWU finished 23-4 and reached the first round of the West Regional . The Vikings earned an automatic regional berth by for the second straight year by winning the Great Northwest Athletic Conference championship.

2013 AVCA West Region All-Stars

Name                   School                 Position   Year
Danielle Dahle         UC San Diego           OH          SO
Kayla Erickson         Western Washington     MB          JR
Kelsey Hull**          Sonoma State           OPP         JR
Samantha Hutchinson**  Western Washington     L           JR
Iona Lofrano           Cal State L.A.         OH          SO
Tori May               CSU San Bernardino     MB          JR
Sara McCutchan         UC San Diego           MB          JR
Brenna McIntosh        CSU San Bernardino     MB          SO
Hayley Ross            Sonoma State           S           SR
Heidi Sierks           UC San Diego           S           SO
Caylie Seitz           Sonoma State           OH          SO
Andrea Terpstra        Northwest Nazarene     MB          RS-JR
Torey Thompson         Chico State            S           FR
Katelynn Zanders       Alaska Anchorage       OH          SO

Region Freshman of the Year: Torey Thompson, Chico State, S

Honorable Mention: Caitlin Brenton (UC San Diego, OPP, Jr.), Catie Fry (Central Washington, S, So.), Madelyn Densberger (Sonoma State, OPP, So.), Sam Harthun (Alaska Fairbanks, OH, So.), Malika O'Brien (California Baptist, MB, So.), Lindsay Quigley (Chico State, MB, Jr.)

*Denotes total number of years selected to AVCA Division II All-Region Team